Imam Bacchus SC takes Central Essequibo T20 title

first_imgImam Bacchus Sports Club cruised to the Central Essequibo T20 title after defeating Reliance Hustlers by 53 runs over the weekend. Playing on their home turf, the champions won the toss and decided to take first strike in a contest reduced to 15 overs a side due to rain.With the outfield lightning fast and the pitch spring-like, Imam Bacchus posted 105 all out in their allotted overs with extras top scoring with 22. From the blade, Latchman Rohit and Yougeshwar Lall were the main contributors with 16 each, hitting two boundaries along the way.The champions’ batting order was halted by seamer, Sedeshwar Shivambar who took 4-18 with support coming from Navendra Mandolall who took 2-11. Trevis Simon and Keith Blackman chipped in with one wicket a piece. In reply, Hustlers were bamboozled for just 52 as Mark Austin top scored with nine and extras accounting for the only double figure score of 14 as Imam Bacchus’ seamers ripped through the order. Rohit returned to take 3-4, earning him the man of the final award while Parmesh Parsotam from the other end bagged 3-9. Latchman Narine and Punrajh Singh took two wicket each for 10 and 14 respectively.Neiland Cadogan bagged the most runs in the tournament and the Most Valuable Player award as Simon took the most wickets.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *